SmartBoards?

22Oct10

I was doing some research on interactive white boards when I came across an interesting blog post. It was something that really got me thinking, which I did not think was possible on Friday afternoon. If you do not have time to read the whole blog just skip to the quote below. Not to throw a monkey wrench in the whole 21st century classroom theory, but maybe we have ignored some of the things that technology takes away from the classroom. Not to mention, if you read the NY Time article this spun off of you have to question if more screen time while kids are in school is the right prescription.

Larry Cuban Blog on WordPress

“We don’t need more technology in my classroom. I have a precious 50 minutes with them each day for 180 days. That is time when real, not virtual, relationships may grow. Each moment I am looking at my computer screen or Smart Board takes away from the time I am directly interacting with my students. Each time I walk down the hall and see a teacher at a computer, or each moment when I am at mine, I feel it is an opportunity lost. For me, more technology is not the answer. It only detracts from what I am truly trying to achieve as a teacher.” Larry Cuban (2010)



No Responses Yet to “SmartBoards?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment